Our Company

Evonta-Technology GmbH – Applied Technologies for Industry

We develop and automate diverse application technologies for various industrial sectors, modern agriculture and life sciences.

The main objective of our projects is to assist in the transfer of innovative testing and diagnostic procedures, as well as product processing technologies into industrial practice. As such, we are a full-service provider, which means that we supervise the entire development process from the initial idea to the final solution. Our services range from the analysis of customer-specific conceptual formulations and feasibility studies, to concept development and design, software programming, mechanical and electrical assembly, documentation and technical manuals creation.

Analysis of fertilized salmon eggs

Current State of the Art:

In commercial fish farming, such as the breeding of Atlantic salmon, fish roe is artificially fertilized in special containers. After 24-48 hours, a representative number of eggs is randomly selected, removed and treated with diluted acetic acid to assess the resulting fertilization rate per incubator. Through this treatment, the eggs lose their natural opacity, become transparent and can be examined under a light microscope. Until now, this inspection has been done manually, and is heavily dependent on the individual experience and knowledge of the operator. Additionally, the acetic acid treatment leads to a change in the internal structure of the eggs (denaturation), which can lead to interpretation errors in the microscopic evaluation.

Our solution:

A fully automated device for the non-destructive examination of fish eggs by means of Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) allows capturing tomographic image data similar to Computer Tomography within a matter of seconds. The scanned fish eggs remain viable and can be examined in their natural state. To this end, the eggs are transferred into a water filled sample container, which is designed to let the eggs slide into fixed positions for measuring. The OCT probe above the sample container is positioned fully automatically above the egg to be tested. The camera integrated in the probe detects blastodiscs in the fish eggs and provides the coordinates for the subsequent OCT measurement. The data obtained are then evaluated and logged online. With the help of the determined fertilization rate, it is then possible to calculate the expected number of hatching eggs per incubator.

Hatching egg sanitation using accelerated electrons

Current State of the Art:

With the increasing specialization of the poultry industry and the continuous advancement of livestock management, we are witnessing an increase of environment-related infection hazard. Simultaneously increasing demands of quality and hygiene in poultry production, especially concerning hatching egg sanitation and the SPF (Specific Pathogen Free) area, create a need for new, effective, environmentally friendly and resource-saving treatment methods. Currently, the most widely used method for surface treatment of hatching eggs is fumigation with formaldehyde (HCHO). Due to the toxic and carcinogenic effects of formaldehyde, this method is controversial. Application bans are being discussed, but due to lack of alternatives, no ban has yet been implemented

Our solution:

The treatment of hatching eggs shells with low-energy accelerated electrons which hit the surface and penetrate into the porous calcareous eggshell. These electrons are generated by means of a special electron beam tube which enables a large-scale treatment of a various number of eggs in one shot. As a result, even invisible, hidden germs can be eradicated while the inside of the egg remains intact and the development of the chick can progress normally.

Unternehmen

Evonta-Technology GmbH – Applied Technologies for Industry

Wir entwickeln und automatisieren diverse Anwendungstechnologien für verschiedene Bereiche der Industrie, der modernen Landwirtschaft und der Lebenswissenschaften.

Die zentrale Aufgabe unserer Aufträge und Projekte ist die Überführung innovativer Prüf- und Diagnoseverfahren sowie Produktbehandlungstechnologien in die industrielle Praxis. Dabei verstehen wir uns als Komplettanbieter und betreuen den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess von der Idee bis zur fertigen Lösung. Unsere Leistungen erstrecken sich von der Analyse der Aufgabenstellung mit Durchführung von Machbarkeitsstudien, über die Konzeptionierung und Konstruktion, bis hin zur Softwareprogrammierung, der mechanischen und elektrischen Montage sowie der Dokumentation und Handbucherstellung.

Befruchtungserfolg von Lachseiern

Stand der Technik:

In der kommerziellen Fischzucht, wie zum Beispiel bei der Zucht des atlantischen Lachses, werden die dem Rogner entnommenen Eier mit den Spermien der Milchner in speziellen Gefäßen in Kontakt gebracht und künstlich befruchtet. Zur Überprüfung der resultierenden Befruchtungsrate pro Inkubator wird nach 24-48h eine repräsentative Anzahl von Eiern zufällig ausgewählt, entnommen und mit verdünnter Essigsäure behandelt. Durch diese Behandlung verlieren die Eier ihre natürliche Opazität, werden transparent und können unter dem Lichtmikroskop untersucht werden. Diese Untersuchung erfolgte bisher manuell und ist stark von den individuellen Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten des Operators abhängig. Zudem führt die Behandlung mit Essigsäure zu einer Veränderung der inneren Struktur der Eier (Denaturierung), was zu Interpretationsfehlern bei der mikroskopischen Bewertung führen kann.

Unsere Lösung:

Eine vollautomatische Anlage zur zerstörungsfreien Untersuchung von Fischeiern mittels der sogenannten Optischen Kohärenz Tomografie (OCT) ermöglicht die Aufnahme tomographischer Bilddaten ähnlich der Computertomografie. Die untersuchten Fischeier bleiben lebensfähig und werden in ihrem natürlichen Zustand untersucht. Dazu werden die Fischeier in einen mit Wasser gefüllten Probenhalter überführt. Dieser ist so gestaltet, dass sich die Eier auf festgelegten Messplätzen anordnen. Oberhalb des Probenhalters befindet sich der OCT-Messkopf, der vollautomatisch über dem zu untersuchenden Fischei positioniert wird. Die im Messkopf integrierte Kamera detektiert die winzige Keimscheibe im Fischei und liefert die Koordinaten für die darauffolgende OCT-Messung. Die erhaltenen Daten werden online ausgewertet und protokolliert. Mit Hilfe des ermittelten Befruchtungserfolges wird es möglich die zu erwartende Anzahl schlüpfender Jungfische pro Inkubator zu berechnen.

Bruteihygienisierung mittels beschleunigter Elektronen

Stand der Technik:

Mit der zunehmenden Spezialisierung der Geflügelindustrie und der Weiterentwicklung von Haltungsverfahren erhöht sich der Infektionsdruck aus der Umwelt. Durch gleichzeitig erhöhte Anforderungen in der Produktion bezüglich Qualität und Hygiene entsteht insbesondere im Bereich der Bruteihygiene und im SPF-Bereich (Specific Pathogen Free) der Bedarf an neuen, effektiven sowie umwelt- und ressourcenschonenden Behandlungsverfahren. Das derzeit am weitesten verbreitete Verfahren zur Oberflächenbehandlung von Bruteiern ist die Begasung mit Formaldehyd (HCHO). Aufgrund der toxischen und kanzerogenen Wirkung von Formaldehyd ist diese Methode umstritten. Anwendungsverbote werden diskutiert, scheitern aber bisher an fehlenden Alternativen.

Unsere Lösung:

Die Behandlung der Kalkschale der Bruteier erfolgt mittels niederenergetischer, beschleunigter Elektronen. Diese werden mit Hilfe einer speziellen Elektronenstrahlröhre erzeugt und sind in der Lage in die poröse Kalkschale einzudringen. Dadurch können auch verborgene Keime abgetötet werden. Das Eiinnere bleibt dabei unversehrt und die Entwicklung des Kükens verläuft vollkommen normal.